Sheet Music Shop South African Jazz Real Book Big Band Scores Free Download Testimonials Contact

 FREE shipping in RSA!       

See what people are saying about The South African Jazz Real Book Vol.1 "Jika"

The South African Jazz Real Book

This highly acclaimed Real Book of SA Jazz contains lead sheets of 116 vocal and instrumental tunes by 86 composers, covering jazz styles incl. indigenous genres such as kwela, goema, mbaqanga, sopvleis and tsaba tsaba.

South African Jazz Sheet MusicThe South African Jazz Real Book Vol.1 "Jika" celebrates the music and the musicians from the southern tip of Africa.

The intention of this book is to get musicians to play the music. Be it on the bandstand, in studio, for the occasional jam session or in the classroom.

The songs are written as lead sheets (chords and melody) and where necessary 2 or 3 voices are used.

The South African Jazz Real Book Vol.1 "Jika" is available now from our online shop, or contact Nick Green on

The composers and tunes contained in the South African Jazz Real Book are as follows:

Bheki Mseleku: Angola
Johnny Dyani: Angolian Cry
Winston Mankunku: Asiyapo
Marcus Wyatt: Awakening
Duke Makasi: Baby I don't know you
Todd Matshikiza : Back of The Moon
Zim Ngqawana: Bantu (Rainbow Nation)
Afrika Mkhize: Be Still
McCoy Mrubata: Bra Gib
Merton Barrow: Cape Town
Caiphus Semenya: Caution
Mandla Mlangeni: Chicken Dust
Charles Louw: Come on Home
Chris McGregor: Country Cooking
Winston Mankunku: Crossroads
Darius Brubeck : Daveyton Special
Hugh Masekela: Dollar's moods  
Paul Rametsi: Drumbeat No.2
Kesivan Naidoo: Eclipse
Cyril Magubane: Emakhaya
McCoy Mrubata: Entlombeni
Jonas Gwangwa: Flowers of the nation
Mark Fransman: From the Old
Moses Molelekwa: Genes and spirits
Carlo Mombelli: Gito
Winston Mankunku: Give Peace a Chance
Philemon Hou: Grazin' in the Grass
Herbie Tsoaeli: Hamba No Malume
Dorothy Masuka: Hamba Nontsokolo
Hotep Galeta: Harold's Bossa
Mickey Vilakazi: Hellfire
Bheki Mseleku: Home at Last
Robbie Jansen / Steven Erasmus: Hotnotstee Party
Kippie Moeketsi: I Remember Billy
Duke Makasi: Inhlupeko
Sisonke Xonti / Benjamin Jephta / Bokani Dyer Xonti: Introspection
Gideon Nxumalo: Isintu
Nduduzo Makhatini: Ithemba
Sandile Shange: Izolo
Zacks Nkosi: Jackpot
Bheki Mseleku: Joy
Robbie Jansen: Kalahari Thirst
Hilton Schilder: Khoisan Symphony
Mark Fransman: King, the Saint
Allen Kwela: Kwa Mashu
Mackay Davashe: Lakutshoni' Langa
Errol Dyers: Lily tripping
Tony Schilder: Lullaby
Alvin Dyers: Madiba
Errol Dyers: Majietas
Hotep Galeta: Malay Tone Poem
Steve Newman: Man on the Jetty
Zacks Nkosi: Mbabane
Strike Vilakazi: Meadowlands
Buddy Wells & Melanie Scholtz: Meditations on a lost love
Basil Coetzee: Mofolo
Tony Schilder: Montreal
Bheki Mseleku: Monwabisi
Shakes Mgudlwa: Morolong
Dudu Pukwana: Mra
Victor Ndlazilwana: Ndize Bonono Na?
Tony Cedras: Ngena Ngena (To Move)
Abbey Cindi: Ngivul Ele
Alan Silinga: Ntyilo Ntyilo
Mandisi Dyantyis: Olwethu
Ezra Ngcukana: One Up
Dennis Mpale: Our Boys Are Doing It
Patrick Van Blerk/Francois Roos: Paradise Road
Mervyn Africa: Park Station
Miriam Makeba/Jerry Ragovoy: Pata Pata
Morris Goldberg & David Bravo: Pedal Pusher
Dennis Mpale: Pinese's Dance
Sean Bergin: Plastic Bag   
Marcus Wyatt: Prayer for Nkosi
Manhattan Brothers: Qongqothwane/Click Song
Khaya Mahlangu: Rain Dance
Feya Faku: Reverence
Kippie Moeketsi: Scullery Department  
Dudu Pukwana: Sekela Khuluma
Jonas Gwangwa: Shebeen
Ntemi Piliso: Sip & Fly
August Musarurwa : Skokiaan
Jimmy Adams: Soetwater
Steve Dyer: Son of the Soil
Johnny Dyani: Song for Biko
Feya Faku: Song for my Fathers (Modern Jazz)
Mongezi Feza: Sonia
Ramon Alexander: Sons and Captains
Chris Schilder: Spring
Hugh Masekela: Stimela
Errol Dyers: Sugar Shake
Kippie Moeketsi: Switch
Louis Mahlanga: Take me
Sonwabo Makubalo: Thami
Feya Faku: The colours they bring
Paul Hanmer: The White Sand of the Flats
Tete Mbambisa: Thembile's Workshop
Caiphus Semenya: There's Music in the Air
Bheki Mseleku: Timelessness
Pat Matshikiza : Tshona
Darius Brubeck : Tugela Rail
Mac McKenzie: Wave after Wave
Henry Sithole: Way back Fifties  
Victor Ntoni: Where are the children now
Andile Yenana: Wicked Whispers
Shannon Mowday: Woza Waltz
Winston Mankunku: Yakhali'Nkomo
Paul Hanmer: Yasmin's Cloud
Duke Makasi: Years Ago
Chris McGregor/Peter Segona: You and me   
Shakes Mgudlwa: You can do it too
Mongezi Feza: You think you know me
Victor Ndlazilwana: Zandile
Hilton Schilder: Zeekoevlei
Kyle Shepherd: Zimology
Tete Mbambisa /Duku Makasi: Zukile

This anthology was put together over a period of several years by Cape Town musicians, bandleaders and educators Jannie "Hanepoot" van Tonder and George "Pappa G" Werner, with some assistance from Colin Miller, who helped coordinate the early phase of the project. George and Jannie have both worked with many of the composers whose compositions are presented here, and toiled long hours to ensure an authentic publication, true to the composers and their music. Nick Green is the last member of the team, taking care of rights issues and general administration.

The South African Jazz Real Book Vol.1 "Jika" is available now from our online shop or contact Nick Green on

PayPal Logo